2014 – Bring On The New!

We’ve all been there ladies and gentleman, I’m currently slap-bang in the middle of what we call a gaming rut. Whether its my reduced disposable income since becoming a father, lack of free time or just general fatigue of the hobby, I find myself sticking to one or two games and not really deviating from them. For the past couple of years these have definitely been Fifa and Call of Duty – I’ve genuinely lost count how many hours I’ve put into them.

sunset-overdrive-animation

With E3 less than a month away however, I have decided to ignore the inevitable hype surrounding these two titles and to instead put that money towards games I wouldn’t normally play. Granted, when Advanced Warfare was announced last week, the usual COD cycle began: 1.) Read news about new COD game 2.) Get excited 3.) Start shopping around online for the cheapest deal 4.) Pre-order cheapest deal 5.) Post numerous articles on NGXN and NGPN saying now excited I am 6.) Spend a couple of hours arguing with Stimo that COD is in fact a great series even if he doesn’t like it! 😛 Though to be fair last year resulted in me playing COD Ghosts so I guess he won that one…

I have since realised my temporary slip up however and have cancelled my Advanced Warfare order, determined to use that £49.99 on games I haven’t played countless times before. For starters I have pre-ordered a copy of Minecraft on the PlayStation Vita – a game which has enjoyed huge success across numerous platforms and offers people countless hours of enjoyment and yet is one I never tried, not even once. For £16.99 (thanks Shopto.net), that’s a deal I simply cannot turn down.

Next up we have Child of Light. For the most part I don’t really play RPG games, I don’t know why, they just come across as long and grindy and not something I would enjoy playing – I think The Witcher 2 and Final Fantasy X have been the only exceptions but I still didn’t finish either of those. Fortunately, Child of Light supposedly has a nice storyline, an enjoyable combat system and weighs in at a modest 15 hours long. For £11.99, again its a hard deal to pass up and might act as a decent stepping stone for me to get into the genre. Who knows, I may still come away disappointed but I’m determined to give it a fair chance.

dragons-crown-1

Assuming I enjoy Child of Light, I would love to sink my teeth into a proper RPG. One I can keep coming back to for months on end, whether its for 30 minutes or 5 hours at a time. As a man who is on a pretty strict gaming budget these days, something like that would be ideal. Therefore, something like Dragon Age 3 or Persona4/Dragon’s Crown on Vita are currently on my radar. DA3 looks absolutely stunning, while Dragon’s Crown and Persona4 reviewed incredibly well and are supposed to be two of the best games available on the handheld. I’m honestly not holding my breath on this one but I would love to be proven wrong.

Moving on, we have Sunset OverDrive on the Xbox One. Yes its still a shooter but its bright, goofy and a far cry away from the super serious “We’re Oscar Mike!” games I am used to playing year after year. It helps that I am a big fan of previous Insomniac Games (Ratchet and Clank, Resistance) so hopefully their creative nature shines through with this one. It has co-op too which is always a plus. Hopefully E3 brings us some proper footage.

UFC

Finally we have a bit of a wildcard. If I’m not going to pick up Fifa this year, I will need an alternative sort of game, one which I can fire up for an hour or so while having a beer in the evenings. Rather than picking up a different Football game (that would be boring), I am actually quite tempted to pick up a completely different sports game instead, perhaps for a sport I haven’t followed before – something like Madden or UFC. Granted this will involve learning a new sport but who knows it could be fun 🙂

So there we have it, my basic plan for 2014. Naturally I will still pick up a few games I’m used to – my Wife and I should be getting copies of Borderlands 2 on Vita at the end of the month and I’m very much looking forward to The Order 1886 on PS4 – but I’m hoping by forcing myself I can get into some new gaming genres and breathe some new life into the hobby.

Of course, E3 is right around the corner and my plans may change. Who knows! 😉

Dave – NGXN

About Stimo

Reviewer at NGXN

Posted on 08/05/2014, in Opinions and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Always nice to mix it up and hopefully at this years E3 we will get even more new IPs for all systems I too like to mix up the colour pallet from time to time.

  2. Yeah, I’m hoping to see a nice variety. I still love my shooters but its got to the point where I need to mix it up a bit really.

Start Discussing!

